If you’re using Instagram for your business or work, you must be extra careful while posting photos or videos. If you have a video of having fun with your friends and family, you may not want to share it with all of your followers.

After all, you don’t want your audience to know every bit about your private life. Or, perhaps, you want to draw a clear line between personal and professional life.

This is where CFS comes into the picture. Using this feature, you can maintain privacy and share posts only with your close friends on Instagram. And guess what? You don’t even have to open a new account for this! 

But the question is: what does CFS mean on Instagram? 

Why does it sound like some Gen Z slang? And how can you use this feature on Instagram?

Well, we’ve got all the answers in this post. So, read on to learn the meaning of CFS on Instagram.

What Does CFS Mean on Instagram?

CFS is a slang word popular in the Insta world. It is the acronym for Close Friends Story. That means it is an Instagram story that only your close friends or followers can see. 

All of your followers won’t get access to a Close Friends Story. It will give you more control over who can or cannot view your content on Stories. In short, the CFS feature allows you to have a lot of privacy on Instagram. 

How to Make a CFS on Instagram

If you already have the Close Friend list on Instagram, you can easily make CFS by following the steps below:

Step 1: Open the Instagram app on your phone. 

Step 2: Go to the top right corner of your screen and tap on the + icon. You can also swipe right anywhere on the home page. 

Step 3: Tap on the option called Story, located at the bottom of the screen. 

Step 4: Now, you can create a Story by uploading a photo or video from your phone’s gallery or tapping the Camera option directly to capture a photo or record a video. 

Record instagram story

Step 5: Once you’re happy with your Instagram Story, navigate to the bottom of your screen and tap the Close Friends button. 

CFS meaning on instagram

Once you’ve pressed the Close Friends button, the Story will automatically be posted on Instagram. And no one but only your selected close friends will be able to see the story.

How to Add People to Your Close Friend List

If you wish to add a few people to your CFS list or exclude some, here are the steps you need to follow: 

Step 1: Open the Instagram app on your device and head to your profile page. 

Step 2: Once you’ve opened the profile page, tap on the three horizontal lines in the upper right corner of your screen. 

Step 3: A menu will appear on your screen. On the menu, look for the option called Close Friends and tap on it. 

add close friend on instagram

Step 4: A list of all your followers will appear on your screen under a section called Suggested. Now, all you have to do is tap on the circle next to the usernames you wish to add to your Close Friends list

Step 5: If you want to add more names that aren’t present in the list, just type them on the search bar.

Step 6: Once you’ve added all your close friends or followers to the CFS list, tap on the Done button. 

Add friends on your Instagram CFS list

If you already have a Close Friends list on your account, you will see a list of ticked names already part of the Close Friends list. 

Now, if you want to remove a few followers from the CF list, simply tick off the names from that list. 

Can You Go Instagram Live Within Your Close Friends?

With the CFS feature, Instagram allows you to post stories privately within your close friend’s group. However, you can’t use the CFS feature to go live with your close friends. 

Till now, Instagram doesn’t have any feature that lets you host Live videos using the Close Friends list. 

Wrapping Up

We hope now you clearly know what does CFS mean on Instagram and how it’s an excellent option to share your content with a few selected individuals. 

CFS or Close Friends Story is a great feature as it allows you to maintain privacy and keep your photos and videos safe. 

So, what are you waiting for? Go ahead and try out this awesome feature to manage your Instagram stories safely and securely!