Do you want to unfollow someone on TikTok?

If yes, this post is for you!

When it comes to short video platforms, no one can match TikTok’s popularity. 

It is the most prominent short video platform out there. Millions of creators on this platform make some of the most incredible short videos ever. 

You can follow the creators you like the most so that their content appears on top of your feed when you open TikTok. 

There is no cap on how many people you can follow on TikTok. 

But you will soon have a cluttered feed if you follow too many people on the platform. 

So it’s always better to unfollow accounts that you no longer enjoy. 

But if you’re new on the platform, you might find it challenging to unfollow anyone.

That’s why, in this post, we’ll show you, how to unfollow someone on TikTok easily in just a few simple steps.

So without wasting any further time, let’s dive right in.

How to Unfollow Someone on TikTok (Step-By-Step)

If you want to unfollow someone on TikTok, you can do it in two ways: 

  • From your search feed
  • Or from your following list. 

We will show you how both of these methods work and how you can use them.

Using the Search Option

For this method, you will have to open the profile of the person you want to unfollow. 

This method is perfect if you precisely know whom you want to unfollow on TikTok. 

Here’s how you can use this method:

Step 1: Open TikTok.

Step 2: Tap on the search bar and enter the username of the account you want to unfollow. 

Step 3: Now tap on their profile to open it. 

Step 4: Tap on the icon with the checkmark besides the message box. 

Unfollow someone on TikTok

That’s it! You have successfully unfollowed the person from your TikTok profile, and you won’t ever see their posts on your TikTok feed.

Using Your Following List

This method is excellent if you have followed a bunch of accounts on TikTok and just want to refine your feed by following only a limited number of creators.

You can open your following list and unfollow people in bulk. 

Here is how to do it:

Step 1: Launch TikTok on your smartphone. 

Step 2: Now tap on profile in the bottom right corner. 

Step 3: Tap on Following on your profile page. 

Step 4: Simply tap the Following icon next to the account you want to unfollow. 

Unfollow on TikTok from following list

You might get a prompt to confirm your choice if it is a private account. Make sure to follow the on-screen instructions to complete the process. 

By Blocking Someone

This might be a drastic step, but when you block someone on TikTok, you automatically unfollow them. 

Remember, even if you unblock the user later, you will have to follow them again. 

Here is how to block someone on TikTok:

Step 1: Launch the TikTok app on your phone. 

Step 2: Use the search bar to find the account you want to block and open their profile. 

Step 3: Tap on the three-dots icon at the top-right corner.

Step 4: Now tap on Block

Step 5: You will see a popup message to confirm your choice; tap on Block again. 

That’s it! That is how you can block someone on TikTok, which will automatically unfollow them. 

You can always unblock and follow them again if you change your mind. 

Does TikTok Notify You When You Unfollow Someone?

No, TikTok does not notify anyone when you unfollow someone. 

Neither you nor the person on the other side will get a notification once you unfollow a person. The only way for the other person to know is if they see a drop in their follower count and check their Followers list

Unfollowing someone famous with many followers might not be a big issue for them. 

But if you unfollow someone close who knows you personally, then it might create some tension if you interact in real life. 

So make sure you do this carefully and do not offend people close to you. If you do not want to see their content on your feed, you can always mute their posts without unfollowing them.

What Happens When You Unfollow Someone on TikTok?

When you unfollow someone on TikTok, their posts will stop showing on your feed. 

This is the only significant drastic change that takes place. 

You will also be removed from their Followers list. 

However, the person you unfollowed can view your profile and posts if you have a public account. That’s all that happens when you unfollow someone on TikTok. 

How Many People Can You Unfollow in a Day on TikTok?

Since TikTok is a big platform, it has many rules and regulations. When it comes to how many people you can unfollow in a day on TikTok, that number is capped at 200. 

As per the guidelines, you can unfollow a maximum of 200 accounts per day on TikTok. You should always try to stay below this number. Otherwise, you might get a TikTok shadowban. 

Can You Unfollow Everyone at Once?

If you want to unfollow many accounts on TikTok and want to clean your feed, you can always unfollow them at once. 

But the process is a bit tricky.

The platform does not allow you to mass unfollow people. But there is a way to unfollow many accounts quickly. 

You can do it by using your Following list. Here’s how to do it:

Step 1: Launch TikTok on your smartphone. 

Step 2: Now tap on profile in the bottom right corner. 

Step 3: Tap on Following on your profile page. 

Step 4: Simply tap the Following icon next to the account you want to unfollow. 

Do this for all the accounts you want to unfollow on TikTok. 

You might see plenty of third-party services that give you features like knowing who unfollowed you and options to mass unfollow accounts. 

But we strictly recommend not to use those kinds of services as they often require you to provide them access to your account and credentials. Such services can’t be trusted and can steal your data and even hack your account. 

So avoid any third-party tools that ask for your login details.

Conclusion

We hope now you have a clear understanding of how to unfollow someone on TikTok

The process is seamless and straightforward. Unfollowing someone on TikTok is just like unfollowing someone on other social media platforms.

Also, you shouldn’t use any third-party service providers as it might put your account at risk.