If you’re wondering how to unblock someone on Snapchat, this post is for you.

Blocking is the most trending solution to break friendships these days. 

However, often we block someone impulsively and quickly regret the decision. If you’ve also blocked someone and now want to open up conversations with them, you’ve come to the right place! 

The steps to unblock someone on Snapchat is pretty easy! However, if you’re a new user, you might find it a bit confusing. 

That’s why, in this guide, we’ll show you how to unblock someone on Snapchat by following some easy steps.

So, without further ado, let’s read on! 

How to Unblock Someone on Snapchat (Android & iOS)

All hard feelings aside, if you want to reconcile with one of your friends and unblock them on Snapchat, here’s what you have to do: 

Step 1: Open the Snapchat app on your Android or iPhone device and tap on your profile icon. You can find the profile or bitmoji icon on the upper left side of your screen. 

Step 2: After opening your Snapchat profile page, tap on the Settings (gear icon) button on the top right corner of your screen. 

Snapchat settings

Step 3: On the Settings page, scroll down and find the Account Actions option. Under the Account Actions, look for the Blocked button and tap on it. 

Blocked snapchat accounts

Step 4: Now, on the Blocked page, you will see a list of all the Snapchat users you’ve blocked until now. Tap the “X” icon next to the username you wish to unblock. 

How to unblock someone on snapchat

Step 5: A confirmation menu will appear on your screen asking if you’re sure about unblocking the Snapchat user. Choose Yes to confirm the unblocking process. 

unblock someone on snapchat

Following these steps, you’ll be able to unblock your friends on Snapchat. 

What Happens When You Unblock on Snapchat?

The moment you block someone on Snapchat, it removes the person from your friend list and all your contacts. 

So, after you unblock someone, you’ll have to find the person and add them to your friend list first. To add them to your Snapchat account:

  • Type the username of the person/friend you wish to add on the search field box at the top. 
  • Then, tap the Add button on the right side of that person’s profile picture and username. 
  • If the person isn’t a public Snapchat user, they have to add you back as well. 

Once you’ve unblocked and added them again to your friend list, they’ll be able to send and receive Snaps, tag you in Story, send messages, and much more. 

Why Can’t I Unblock Someone on Snapchat?

If you can’t unblock someone on Snapchat, that means either the person has blocked you or they’ve deleted their account on Snapchat. 

You can figure out if that particular person has blocked you by searching for their username on the search field from a different Snapchat account. If you see that person’s account on that different account, chances are you’ve been blocked. 

Can Someone See If I Unblock Them on Snapchat?

No, Snapchat has no feature that notifies users when someone blocks or unblocks them. 

However, if you unblock someone, they’ll be able to figure it out on their own.

For example, after blocking someone, if they search your account and couldn’t find it, they’ll know you’ve blocked them. 

And later, if they receive a friend request from you, they’ll be able to guess that you’re reading them on your Snapchat account. 

Can You Add Someone as a Friend on Snapchat After You’ve Unblocked Them?

Yes, you can add someone as a friend on Snapchat even after unblocking them. 

All you have to do is, search for their profile, send a friend request, and wait for them to accept it (we’ve mentioned the steps earlier). 

However, if the person has also blocked you on Snapchat, you won’t be able to find them or add them again. 

In such scenarios, it’s best to reach out to that person through another social media platform. 

Here’s a reminder: Snapchat has a few limitations when it comes to blocking or unblocking someone. For instance, if you’ve blocked, unblocked, and add them again in a short period, Snapchat won’t let you re-add them for at least 24 hours. 

Wrapping Up

We hope now you have a clear understanding of how to unblock someone on Snapchat.

But sometimes, blocking and unblocking friends on Snapchat can create unnecessary trouble. 

That’s why instead of blocking and re-adding people, make sure to silence notifications on Snapchat. 

When you silence notifications, your friend will still remain on your friend list. They’ll still be able to send snaps and messages. But you won’t get any reminders of their snaps or messages. 

This is more helpful if you want to temporarily cut off some people from Snapchat without letting them know.