Whatever you post on Twitter is simply people’s business! More than 206 million active users on Twitter to view, like, and retweet your tweets 24×7. 

Now the thing is, not everyone is comfortable sharing their thoughts or content with the world. Perhaps you’re a private person and want to share tweets with just family and friends. 

So, what can you do? 

Well, you can switch your public Twitter account to private. 

A private Twitter account gives you privacy. You can decide who sees your tweets, follows, and followers. With a private account, only your followers will be able to see your past and future tweets. 

But how can you make your Twitter account private?

Thankfully, switching to a private Twitter account isn’t a difficult task. All you need to do is, follow the steps we’ve mentioned in this article. 

But, before discussing the steps, let’s answer some common FAQs related to private Twitter account:

What Happens If You Make Your Twitter Account Private?

Apart from restricting your tweets, comments, and status updates to only your current followers, here are a few more things that happen when you turn your Twitter account Private:

  • With a private account, each Twitter user needs to send you a follow request. Based on the following request, you can manually control who can see your tweets.
  • Tweets from a private account don’t appear publicly in any search engine. Only you and your followers can search your posts or account in search engines like Google.
  • The retweet feature is not available on private Twitter accounts. Even your followers can’t retweet your tweets to their feed. They can only mark them as their favourite. However, you can retweet other users’ posts in your feed and share them with your followers. 
  • The components or responses you’ll send to the followers are visible. But, you can’t respond or comment on a Twitter account that’s not following you. 
  • Tweet mentions will not be visible to users who don’t follow you. 

Can People See If You Tweet From a Private Account?

If they follow you, then yes! 

A private Twitter account means only your followers can see your posts. People who don’t follow you won’t have access to your Twitter feed, posts or future updates.

However, if you use any authorized third-party tool to manage your Twitter account, it may have the access to see your Tweets. 

Why Switching to a Private Twitter Account is Relevant For Brands?

Not just individuals, switching to a private Twitter account is relevant for brands also. 

By limiting your tweets to certain people, you indicate that your business cares about quality content rather than followers counts or reach. 

When you restrict your tweets, your followers will feel the posts you’re sharing are customized just for them. And people love personalized content. 

Don’t just take our words; even the numbers say so: 

  • According to a study, 87% of consumers stated that personally relevant branded content influences how they perceive a brand. 
  • 72% of consumers reported they only engage with personalized content. 

Also, a private Twitter account can create a real sense of FOMO! It can make users curious about your account. 

For example, if you’re tweeting about a new product feature or launching something new, everyone would be curious to get a first look. And, this curiosity will give users a reason to send the “follow request”. 

Lastly, by going private, you can qualify your followers. You can connect with followers who are genuinely interested in your brand.

By having a private Twitter account, you can determine who your loyal audience is. You can weed out any troll account and keep your feed clean.  

Also, having a small group of followers can help you get honest feedback and opinion about your products or services. 

How to Make a Twitter Account Private on a Desktop?

Now that we’ve cleared all your questions, it’s time to learn the step-by-step process to make your Twitter private on the desktop. Here’s what you need to do:

Step 1. Go to twitter.com and log in with your Twitter account. 

Step 2. Head to the Notification tab, located on the left side of your desktop screen, and click on the “More” option. 

How to make twitter account private from desktop - 1

Step 3. Now select “Settings and privacy”

make twitter account private from desktop - 2

Step 4: From the Settings page, select “Privacy and safety”.

make twitter private

Step 5. Now from the “Privacy and safety” page, click on the “Audience and tagging” option. 

make your twitter private using desktop - 4

Step 6. Click on the “Protect your tweets” box and a pop-up will appear on your screen asking you to confirm whether you want to switch your account to private. 

make twitter private using desktop - 5

Step 7. Next, select Save changes and enter your password to make your Twitter account private.

How to Make a Twitter Account Private on a Mobile?

Step 1. Open the Twitter app on your mobile. Locate your profile icon and tap to open it. 

Step 2. Tap on the “Settings and privacy” option. This will open the settings page; from there, tap on Privacy and safety

Step 3. Next, select “Audience and tagging”. Under the audience and tagging page.

Make twitter account private from mobile app - 1

Step 4. Next, turn on the “Protect your Tweets” sliding bar. 

make twitter private from mobile - 2

That’s it; this will make your account private on mobile. Now your tweets will be protected, and followers will stay connected. 

Wrapping Up

As you can see, making your Twitter account private on mobile or desktop is easy as a pie! 

Turning your public account to private changes the way you use Twitter. It becomes a closed group for you and your followers. 

However, you must note that when you make your account private, new visitors won’t be able to see your tweets. On the other hand, the followers you had before switching to a private account will still be able to see your past and future posts without a hassle.

Do you have a private or public Twitter account? Let us know in the comments below.