YouTube always offers you great video suggestions for a fulfilling experience on the platform. 

Still, there are some channels that you simply don’t want to see on your feed. Maybe they upload the most boring, bizarre, or low-quality content. Or, perhaps, no matter what you upload on YouTube, they leave a nasty comment on it. 

Whatever the reason is, it’s natural you’d like to stop seeing from these channels. 

But does YouTube let you control what you can see? Does the platform allow you to block specific channels from any device? 

Well, in this post, you’ll find all the answers. 

Here we’ve shared if it’s possible to block channels on YouTube. 

And if it does, how to block YouTube channels? 

So, buckle up your seat and stick to the article till the end. 

Can You Block a Channel on YouTube?

It’s not a simple Yes or No answer.

Because you can’t completely “block” a channel from YouTube. Blocking a Youtube channel will make them stop commenting on the videos you upload. But it won’t make the channel or its videos stop appearing on your YouTube feed.

Also, blocking a channel won’t stop you from seeing their content elsewhere on YouTube, for instance, the search results or external sites. 

So, to stop seeing videos on your feed from a certain channel and block them from commenting on your posts, you have to use two different methods-

  1. Block the user
  2. Block video recommendations

Let’s learn how you can use these two methods on different devices in our next point. 

How to Block YouTube Channels on Computer (PC or Laptop)

The easiest way you can block YouTube channels is by using a browser from your PC or Laptop. 

If you want to block a channel from commenting on your uploaded videos, follow the steps below: 

Step 1: Open your browser and visits YouTube’s website

Step 2: Now, search for the channel you want to block in the Search Box

Step 3: Click on the channel and head to their About section at the top of that channel’s page.  

Step 4: Once you click the About section, you’ll see a Flag icon on the page’s right side and under the Stats section. Click on the Flag icon. 

Step 5: A menu will appear on your screen; from there, click on the Block User option. 

How to block YouTube channels from commenting

Step 6: Click on Submit to complete the process. 

Block YouTube user

There you go! Now, this channel will forever be banned from commenting on the videos you upload. You have to unblock the channel to allow them to comment on your videos again. 

Now, the steps are different if you want to stop seeing video content from a specific channel on YouTube. Here’s what you have to do: 

Step 1: Open YouTube on your browser. 

Step 2: On your homepage, choose a video from a channel that you wish to block. 

Step 3: Click on the three vertical dots located near the video title. 

Step 4: From the menu, click on the Don’t recommend channel option. 

Block YouTube from recommending new videos

That’s it! YouTube will show you a confirmation note that states, “We won’t recommend videos from this channel to you again.” 

After this, you won’t see videos from this channel on your YouTube feed ever again. 

How to Block YouTube Channels on Mobile (Android or iPhone)

If you love streaming YouTube videos on your mobile device, this section is for you. 

Just like browsers, it’s possible to get rid of boring videos and unwanted comments from specific channels in the YouTube app. Here’s how you can do that: 

Block User on YouTube

  • Open the YouTube app on your Android or iPhone device.  
  • Type the channel name you wish to block from commenting. 
  • Go to the channel and tap on the three vertical dots icon in the top right corner of your screen. 
  • A menu will pop up, and from there, tap on the Block User option
  • In the next popup menu, tap on the Block option to confirm the process. 

How to block YouTube channel on mobile

Block a Channel Recommendation

You can block certain YouTube channels from popping up on your feed. Here is how you can do that: 

  • Open the YouTube app on your android or iPhone device. 
  • Select a video from a channel you wish to block. 
  • Tap on the three vertical dots located beside the video title. 
  • From the popup menu, tap on the “Don’t recommend channel” option.

Block YouTube video recommendation on mobile

These steps mentioned above to block a channel on Youtube works the same on both Android and iPhone devices. 

How to Block Channels of YouTube TV

YouTube TV has over 100 channels. But what if you don’t want to see all of the channels? Can you block them? 

Well, you can’t directly block the channels. But, you can hide the channels so you don’t have to see them pop up on your TV screen.

  1. Sign in to your YouTube TV account. 
  2. Select your profile icon in the top right corner of your screen. 
  3. Select the Settings option from the drop-down menu. 
  4. Choose the Live Guide option in the navigation on the left. 
  5. To hide/disable/block a channel, click on the red checkmark to uncheck it. 

Unchecking the channels will allow you to remove unwanted channels from your YouTube TV. You can enable the channel again by tapping on the empty circle once again. 

Make sure to remember that hiding a channel doesn’t mean they are gone forever. You’ll still pay for the channel. However, hiding the channel will stop it from appearing on your live guide. 

What Happens When You Block YouTube Channels?

When you block a youtube channel, it will prevent the channel owner from commenting on the videos you upload. 

The blocked channel will still be able to watch your videos. You can also see their uploaded videos on your feed. 

However, all of their previous comments will be hidden. 

And when you block YouTube from recommending a specific channel o your feed, it will improve your overall YouTube recommendations. 

You won’t see video suggestions from that channel, but they will appear on search results or external sites. 

When you block a channel, no one gets notified. YouTube won’t display any notification on your or the blocked channel owner’s page. 

How to Unblock YouTube Channels

If you’ve changed your mind right after blocking YouTube from recommending a channel, click on Undo. 

However, if you haven’t clicked on Undo immediately, there’s no way to unblock a channel individually. You have to unblock all the channels at once. 

Here’s how you can do that: 

  1. Head to your Google My Activity page. 
  2. Click on Other Google activity on the left menu. 
  3. Under YouTube Not interested Feedback, click on Delete. 
  4. Again click on Delete to confirm

If you’ve blocked a youtube channel from commenting on your videos, here’s how you can unblock them: 

On an Android or iPhone Device

  1. Open the YouTube app.
  2. Go to the blocked channel’s profile.
  3. Tap on the three vertical dots at the top of your screen. 
  4. Tap on Unblock user from the drop-down menu. 
  5. Tap on Unblock to confirm your decision. 

On a Desktop

  1. Open a browser and go to Youtube.com.
  2. Search the channel you’d like to unblock.
  3. Go to the channel’s About section.
  4. Click on the Flag icon under the Stats option.
  5. Click on Unblock user.
  6. Click on Submit to confirm your choice.

Voila! You’ll start seeing videos from this channel on your YouTube homepage. 

Why Can’t You Block Channels on YouTube?

You can’t entirely block specific channels on YouTube. You can prevent the channel from commenting on your channel’s posts. 

Also, you can block YouTube from showing you video recommendations from specific video channels. 

However, you can still watch videos, search and visit the blocked channels on your YouTube account. 

And if you’re unable to block users from commenting on your YouTube videos, make sure you’re using an updated version of the app. If not, update it from Google Play Store or Apple Store. 

Wrapping Up

We hope now you have a clear understanding of how to block YouTube channels.

If you don’t like the recommendations from Youtube, the best option is to get rid of the channels. This will help YouTube to understand what type of content you wish to see on your feed. 

And if you want to cut through the noise of annoying comments on your uploaded videos, blocking the user will always come in handy. 

Blocking a channel on YouTube is an easy process, but you might find it confusing, especially if you don’t know whether to block a user or block channel recommendations. 

Hopefully, this post will help you end your confusion and understand how to block channels on YouTube. So, go ahead, follow these steps and have full control of the platform.