Instagram Issues

How to Turn Off Vanish Mode on Instagram (2024)

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Want to know how to turn off vanish mode on Instagram?

If that’s the case, you have landed in the right place.

Instagram launched Vanish mode in 2020 to provide users with an extra layer of privacy.

The feature became an instant hit among Instagram users, and people started adapting the vanish mode while talking to someone on the platform.

But just like any other feature, it also comes with plenty of back draws.

YouTube video

If you’re not a fan of Instagram’s vanish mode feature, this post will show you how to turn off the vanish mode on Instagram by following some simple steps.

Keep reading.

What is Vanish Mode on Instagram?

Before we show you how to get out of vanish mode on Instagram, let’s first understand what this vanish mode feature actually is.

The vanish mode on Instagram is a feature that allows users to send disappearing messages to each other on the platform. 

In simple terms, if you enable the vanish mode on Instagram while chatting with someone, the chat will automatically vanish or disappear when a user reads and exits the chat.

Popular social media platform Snapchat runs its entire chat system on this mode, and they were actually the first ones to introduce the disappearing message feature to the public.

Whether you’re texting with your friends or someone stranger, using the vanish mode adds an extra layer of privacy to your chats so they can’t be misused later on by someone else.

How to Turn Off Vanish Mode on Instagram

While vanish mode can be an excellent feature to use on Instagram to protect yourself in this digital era, some users prefer not to use it.

If you’re also one of them and you’re trying to get rid of the vanish mode on Instagram, here’s how you can do that:

Step 1. Head over to the Instagram app and navigate to the message in which you have enabled the vanish mode.

Step 2. Open the message and just simply swipe up the screen to disable vanish mode on Instagram.

How to Turn Off Vanish Mode on Instagram

It’s that easy.

The method to enable and disable the vanish mode is exactly the same. All you have to do is swipe up the chat screen.

It’s worth mentioning that you can adjust your vanish mode anytime you want. There are no restrictions or time limits. 

Why Should You Turn Off Vanish Mode on Instagram?

While the decision to turn off the vanish mode on Instagram is purely based on your personal preference, there are a few common reasons why users prefer to get out of vanish mode on Instagram.

One of the most common reasons is miscommunication.

Since the messages disappear when you enable the vanish mode on some particular chat, it can sometimes lead to miscommunications if the opposite person does not recall the exact context of the message. 

When you turn off the vanish mode on Instagram, both parties have access to all the older messages, making it easier to understand and remember the communications.

In addition, keeping a record of all the conversations for any personal reason is also impossible when you’re in the vanish mode.

Why Can’t I Turn Off Vanish Mode on Instagram?

If you can’t turn off the vanish mode on Instagram, it could be because of three reasons:

  • Internal glitch or server downtime within the platform.
  • Slow or poor internet connection.
  • You might have already turned it off.

If it’s an internal glitch or server downtime, you can’t really do much about it.

But if your internet connection is slow, try switching to a different and stronger connection.

Also, double-check whether you have accidentally already turned off the vanish mode.

FAQs

Does vanish mode delete messages on both sides?

Yes, Vanish mode deletes messages on both ends of the chat.

Why do girls use vanish mode?

It could be because of several personal reasons why girls use the vanish mode. It totally depends on person to person.

How long does vanish mode last?

Vanish mode stays active until you disable it on your own.

Does the other person know if Vanish mode is on?

When you enable the vanish mode, the other person won’t get any notification. But if they open the chat, they can see the vanish mode is active.

Is Vanish mode safe?

Yes, it’s totally safe. In fact, the vanish mode was introduced to enhance the privacy of users.

Can I screenshot in Vanish mode?

Yes, you can, but when you take a screenshot of the chat, and the vanish mode is enabled, the other person will get a notification.

How do I get my messages back from Vanish mode?

There is no way to recover the messages sent while the vanish mode was active. They are gone forever.

Conclusion

And that’s how you can turn off vanish mode on Instagram in just two easy steps.

In short, the method for enabling and disabling the vanish mode is exactly the same. All you have to do is open the chat and pull the chat upwards.

While vanish mode is a great feature, it’s better to disable it if you want to keep a history of your chats.

Author

  • Jennifer Smith

    Jennifer Smith is a writer at Famoid.com specializing in social media and digital marketing. She likes to make complicated things easily understandable for everyone. Her writing expertise includes how-to guides, social media tips and tricks, and digital marketing. When she's not writing, she is either traveling in some part of the world or painting in her house. She has been writing for the past 7 years and has written dozens of blog posts and articles around various digital marketing and social media topics.

Write A Comment